Hey I’m Back after the hiatus!

Yet again, I have gone missing-in-action. It’s been 3 months…… not-too-long by calendar time, but a gravely lengthy period of absence in the blogsphere, isn’t it? For friends who have been reading my blog regularly, please accept my most sincere apologies. I promise to post more … but hey … thinking aloud now, I have not posted because I have not really done much baking at home since I started working at the bakery! ( ha ha .. I am still trying to justify my lack of inertia here … )

Anyway, now I am back with vengeance .. this time to tell you more of what I am doing at work … can you guess where? … yes, it’s at the same place I did my professional course – Creative Culinaire. Within three months of working, I think I must have baked more cakes than all my years of baking at home! It is great working with the other senior pastry chefs and watching them create the most beautifully crafted cake decor. They have also been a great source of inspiration and totally self-less in their teaching, sharing and guidance – really could not have asked for any thing more!

To add more excitement, I was also given the chance to do what I used to do a long time ago – teach! I must admit that it was rather nerve-wrecking to be standing infront of a big group initially, but the butterflies do go away and things do fall in place after a while. And now, the school is zooming in strongly on children education .. to start the ball rolling for the mighty dragon year .. a fondant modelliing cum chocolate making class has been scheduled for the coming March holidays.

a parent-child bonding class where each pair will model a fondant rabbit atop a re-usable bottle; and make your very own chocolate crisps that will burst in your mouth with every bite - a sure winner for all, parent and child alike

Do check up the school website at http://www.creativeculinaire.com/ for more information!
About justbakeit

I am a stay-at-home-mum, having the most supportive hubby and two lovely girls. I first started baking more than 10 years ago, with one of the first few attempts being a birthday cake for my elder daughter. It was a simple and amateurish looking one, but I will not forget her delight at seeing it! After that, I found a new me, a new passion. I have been baking with much gusto, attending classes, immersing myself in the internet and the world of culinary books. I absolutely love to bake, but after a while, baking is just not enough. I cannot stop marvelling at those beautifully decorated cakes in showcases and cake magazines. So from baking , I ventured into cake decorating. Entering the world of fondant and different icing, colours and dimensions are quickly added to my bakes. There is so much to learn, so much to explore in art of cake decorating. Every cake presents a new challenge. Would love to use this blog to share my experiences and make like-minded friends!

Posted on January 29, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

