Fruit mousse cake

Did another strawberry mousse. The method is quite similar to the one earlier except that in place of chocolate work at the side, I line the cake ring with strawberries before assembling the cake and pouring the mousse. The end result seems pleasant enough, except that I need to buy more strawberries than needed. In case you are thinking that it is because of rotten strawberries – well, no. It’s because I tried to choose similar sized ones, so could sometimes use only a few from a punnet. I think Korean strawberries would be perfect for this kind of assembly – because they are all almost the same size, albeit a little small.

In class today, each of us also brought home 4 fruit mousse cakes. A selection of fruit puree were given. Since I have always been doing strawberry and mango, I thought perhaps this is the chance to try out other flavours … and chose lime, passionfruit, orange and blackcurrent.

This turned out to be a mistake – the lime and passionfruit were really SOUR! Oh my gosh – instead of using only one kind of puree, I should perhaps have mixed a sweet and a sour, say, passionfruit with mango; or maybe 20% lime with 80% orange puree? Hmm .. this needs to be tested again …

Tomorrow I will have to make  a cup of sweet coffee to go with the sour fruit mousse cakes … LOL

 

About justbakeit

I am a stay-at-home-mum, having the most supportive hubby and two lovely girls. I first started baking more than 10 years ago, with one of the first few attempts being a birthday cake for my elder daughter. It was a simple and amateurish looking one, but I will not forget her delight at seeing it! After that, I found a new me, a new passion. I have been baking with much gusto, attending classes, immersing myself in the internet and the world of culinary books. I absolutely love to bake, but after a while, baking is just not enough. I cannot stop marvelling at those beautifully decorated cakes in showcases and cake magazines. So from baking , I ventured into cake decorating. Entering the world of fondant and different icing, colours and dimensions are quickly added to my bakes. There is so much to learn, so much to explore in art of cake decorating. Every cake presents a new challenge. Would love to use this blog to share my experiences and make like-minded friends!

Posted on October 11, 2011, in Cakes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

