Professional Baking Class

Have been attending many many classes over the past years, most of which being 1-day courses. I am not satisfied with these anymore – baking isn’t just about collecting recipes – and feel that it is timely to bring this to the next level, so that I can continue to learn more and build on my love for the art. So I took the bold step and signed up for a longer programme – two-and-a-half-weeks duration.

I know it is not an easy course, but never did I realise how demanding it can be, and how it can zap all my energy and throw me into bed like a dead log at the end of each day.

On Day 1, we took turns to share what we hope to achieve from the course. One classmate shared that this will be a litmus test before he decides whether he wants to go deeper and bigger in this area. Indeed, we were told that by the end of Day 3, we should have a better indication of whether we should be heading in this direction.

It’s the end of Day 2 now, at 1.30am. Physically, I am totally beaten, but my mind is too excited to sleep just yet. I have just done a batch of cupcakes for Children’s Day, something I promised my daughter two weeks ago for her party two days later. And I have promised a birthday cake for a friend’s son this Sunday, and another batch of Children’s Day cupcakes for another class in school next Monday. All these were commitments made before I decided to take up the course, but of course there is no turning back now! Like it or not, regardless of whether it is do-able, I have to JUSTBAKEIT!

Strangely, I feel my excitement mounting despite the added pressure of producing these 3 cakes in the span of a few days, on top of being in class for the whole day. My husband cannot fathom how I have the stamina to bake at this unearthly hour, having already been at the bakery the entire day! I can’t offer an explanation, but hey, a promise is a promise! Or, perhaps the instructor’s zest and enthusiam is contagious – she is a truly inspiring lady, so full of positive spirits and never-ending energy despite having a thousand things on her mind.

The Professional Course is structured in such a way that it simulates a real-life situation in a bakery. In Day 1, our group baked a total of 71 cakes! In Day 2, we assembled 3, and make more preparations for the following day. I have no doubt that Day 3 will be another day at war, fighting against time!

I have enjoyed the past 2 days, though I have to admit that I have not felt so totally drained for a long time. I dare say I am more exhausted now than even after the recent Yellow Ribbon Run, with its many hard-to-tackle upslopes. So will I pass the litmus test after tomorrow? Will there be any difficult challenges and upslopes that will throw me off the track?

At the moment, I feel certain that nothing is going to rock me, I feel confident of the path I have chosen, and I am happy with myself for that. Certainly looking forward to Day 3. …

About justbakeit

I am a stay-at-home-mum, having the most supportive hubby and two lovely girls. I first started baking more than 10 years ago, with one of the first few attempts being a birthday cake for my elder daughter. It was a simple and amateurish looking one, but I will not forget her delight at seeing it! After that, I found a new me, a new passion. I have been baking with much gusto, attending classes, immersing myself in the internet and the world of culinary books. I absolutely love to bake, but after a while, baking is just not enough. I cannot stop marvelling at those beautifully decorated cakes in showcases and cake magazines. So from baking , I ventured into cake decorating. Entering the world of fondant and different icing, colours and dimensions are quickly added to my bakes. There is so much to learn, so much to explore in art of cake decorating. Every cake presents a new challenge. Would love to use this blog to share my experiences and make like-minded friends!

Posted on October 4, 2011, in Cakes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi, glad to know that you have chosen the path you desire. Keep the energy going. You made wonderful cakes and write beautifully.

    Love your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

